IEBC Clears David Rudisha to Run as Independent Candidate

David Rudisha
The Telegraph

Two-time Olympian David Lekuta Rudisha has been cleared by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to vie for the Kilgoris parliamentary seat as an independent candidate in the upcoming General Election.

The IEBC, which issued a clearance letter to the athlete, noted that he had been cleared to run for the seat, affirming that he was not a member of any registered party. 

The Commission's letter was in response to the athlete's statement of his intention to contest for the seat currently occupied by Gideon Konchellah. 

 Also Read: David Rudisha Hints at Possible Comeback Following Successful Surgery

"Reference is made to the subject matter and your letter dated April 29, 2022, on the intention to contest election as Member of National Assembly, Kilgoris constituency."

"Pursuant to Article 85 of the Constitution and Section 34(fa) of the Political Parties Act 2011, David Lekuta Rudisha, is not a member of any registered party," read part of the IEBC letter. 

Rudisha, who has been maintaining a low profile, was touted to get back to athletics but his struggle with injuries has kept him off the scene in the recent past. 

His last race was in 2017 where he finished fourth at the Shanghai Diamond League with a personal record time of 2:19:43. 

Some of the accolades he has achieved in his career include being a two-time Olympic Gold medallist, two times World Championships Gold medallist, World Athletics Final Gold Medallist, and two times African Championships Gold Medallist. 

Other athletes who have thrown their hats in the political ring include the 1996 Olympic 800m bronze medallist, David Sing’oei Kiptoo, who is seeking the Uasin GIshu Gubernatorial seat, former Berlin Marathon champion Simon Biwott will vie for the Soy MCA seat.

Former Boston Marathon champion Wesley Korir will also be seeking to reclaim the Cherang'any parliamentary seat from incumbent Joshua Kutuny who beat him in the 2017 General Election under the Jubilee ticket.