FKF Cup Fixtures Announced

Mashemeji Derby
A collage image of Gor Mahia (left) and AFC Leopards(right) fans enjoying the Mashemeji Derby at the Nyayo Stadium on Sunday, January 29, 2023.

Fixtures for the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Cup round of 32 were announced on Thursday, February 2, during a public draw conducted on FKF Cup’s social media platforms.

FKF Cup will kick off on Saturday, February 11, with Gor Mahia, the most successful team in the competition’s history, defending champions facing FKF Division One side Kibera Soccer.

Michael Olunga's Football Academy (MOFO) will host FKF Premier League side KCB while  AFC Leopards travel to FKF  Division 1 side Zetech Titans of Ruiru.

Also Read: George Aladwa Rescues Vihiga Bullets Stuck in Nairobi

FKF Premier League defending champions Tusker FC will play FKF Regional League side Berlin FC from Garissa.

Winners of the FKF Cup will be chosen as representatives of Kenya in the CAF Confederations Cup.

Out of 32 clubs that had signed up for the cup, 11 were from FKF Premier League, eight were in the National Super League, six were from Division One, and seven were from Regional/County Leagues signed up for the cup.

However, days before the draw, Mombasa Elite and Vickers FC withdrew their applications and were replaced by Berlin FC and Michael Olunga Football Academy (MOFO).

Premier League clubs include Gor Mahia (defending champions), AFC Leopards, Tusker, Sofapaka, KCB, Banadari, Kariobangi Sharks, Kakamega Homeboyz, Ulinzi, Kenya Police and Bidco United.

Representing the NSL are Migori Youth, Kajiado FC, Muranga Seal, Mara Sugar, Darajani Gogo, Mwatate FC, Kajiado FC, and Coastal Heroes.

Division 1 clubs participating in the Cup include Rainbow FC, Equity, Zetech Titans, Sigalagal, Nyota FC, and Luanda Villa FC.

Dero FC from Siaya, Shalimar FC and Marula FC from Nakuru, Nairobi-based Scarlet FC, Karatina Homeboyz, Bucks FC, Berlin FC and Michael Olunga Football Academy (MOFO) are the amateur teams that have signed up for the Cup.

Winners from the round of 16 will take on each other in the round of 16, which will take place on March 28, 2023, while the quarterfinals are set for April 28, 29, 2023.

The semi-finals will be played on May 20, followed by the final on June 24, 2023.

Also Read: Fortune Sacco FC Disbanded Days After FKF Decision